In many countries, people are consuming more sugar-based drinks than before. Why is this happening, and what could be done to reduce sugary drink consumption?

Good health is a chief principle to live disease-free life. Consumption of drinks containing lots of sugar is increasing in most countries. There are so many causes for an increase in sweetened drinks which will be elaborated on in detail in this essay along with the recommendation to reduce them. Firstly, these sugar -based drinks are very tasty which satisfies the taste buds and are easily available in the markets. Manufacturers add preservatives and other ingredients which create the myth that these beverages are fresh which provokes a person to select these potions. For example, whenever people feel tired, they prefer coco cola instead of plain water thinking that it will quench their thirst but it gives craving for more. Secondly, humans are so entrenched in their day-to-day activities which makes them compromise with their health. People buy bicarbonate drinks with the maximum quantity of sugar due to busy schedules in their professional and personal life. Government should conduct awareness programmes and medical campaigns over the numerous diseases like diabetes caused because of excess sugar intake, impose more taxes on these, they should not be sold in school canteens and many more. Moreover, the media should add fuel to policy maker’s efforts by using social platforms to encourage the population to follow good habits for their well-being and make them aware of the chemicals present in these aerated drinks. Above all these, a person should become determined for their own lifestyle and consume healthy liquids for instance tender coconut water, fruit juices without sweeteners, detoxifiers, nutritious water (like cinnamon and lemon water), herbal tea, fruit punch, etc. Overall, individuals prefer drinking sugary liquids due to their hectic hustle-bustle life as well as easy availability and these can be reduced by outspreading the proper knowledge of diseases and encouraging them to have limited sugar.