Some employers are willing to give their workers a certain amount of unpaid sabbatical* time, believing this benefits the individual and the organisation. Other employers see no merit in this arrangement and discourage it. Consider the possible arguments for and against unpaid sabbatical leave, and reach a viewpoint of your own.

As an introduction, many fields currently, consider sabbatical leave as an essential component in the development of associations themselves as well as the quality of their employees, and the workers are granted such unpaid leaves increasingly. However, many other employers believe that it is not as important as it is thought to be, so, discourage the trend. Anyhow, in my opinion, I agree that this type of work should be encouraged because it is important in a variety of ways, which I am going to discuss more. On the one hand, by authorising unpaid leaves, people are encouraged to engage in various activities, either academic or leisure, which are paramount in their performances. A large number of employees spend a stressful life with their heavy amount of workload, where they may end up at a depression later on. Therefore, quality time with loved ones enjoying their preferred leisure activities definitely will enhance their mental stability, which will be affected positively in their careers. Furthermore, many professionals, for instance, university professors, use their valuable sabbatical period doing a number of research and attending conferences, which are essential to establish careers as well as to society as a whole. Because of that, it seems that it is advantageous to guarantee a such time period for many workers. On the other hand, by giving employees much time off from work, employers may face some difficulties in finding new professionals to fulfil the requirement. Hence, it will cause an increased burden on other officers and ultimately may collapse their businesses. For example, university students may miss their best lecturers during a certain period if the replacement would not be a satisfactory match. In addition, these kinds of leaves are not important in all areas, but the academic and research institutes benefit more. So, for other types of officers, for example, police officers, there is no definite requirement for that. In conclusion, many individuals argue that sabbatical leaves are required for both authorities and individuals, although others suggest vice versa. However, I think that the benefits outweigh the disadvantages of giving such opportunities to all workers, to enhance productivity.