As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Nowadays many adults have full-time jobs and spend most of the proportion of their lives doing such jobs. Thus, feelings about one’s job can reflect how an individual feels about their life as a whole, because of this, job satisfaction is indeed very important for their well-being of them. To begin with, employees get job satisfaction in a number of ways. Firstly, a person needs to feel that they are doing valuable tasks, therefore positive feedback from superiors is very important in this respect. In addition, a sense of fulfilment is encouraged if a worker feels the activity is worth doing because it contributes to society or the economy as a whole. Secondly, when someone feels they are improving or developing their skills through training opportunities. For example, then there is a sense of progression and purpose that rewards a worker. Moreover, pleasure is increased by a sense of responsibility for and loyalty to a team. Furthermore, job satisfaction is a lucrative prospect for employees. However, everyone cannot enjoy their job of course. Due to hard economic realities, many people have little choice in the kind of work they can get. In some cases, an employee is working in a position that suits neither their skills nor their personality. For instance, some jobs are repetitive and boring which may lead to resentment and insecurity rather than job satisfaction. In conclusion, although it is unlikely that all workers do feel happy in their work, it is not unrealistic to promote more job satisfaction if the factors identified above are implemented, then any job can be improved and more workers can feel greater degrees of job satisfaction.