Fewer students are studying science at school and university, favoring more computer-based subjects instead. Is this a positive or negative development? What are the reasons for this? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

It has been stated that computer-based subjects are chosen over science in many schools and other tertiary institutions. This trend, which I believe is a negative one, is a result of growing advancements in technology and indecision among students. One of the primary reasons why digital curricula have become so favoured by students is the significant growth of technology, especially in artificial intelligence. Introduced to the public just recently, artificial intelligence and other forms of technology have proven to be extremely potential areas to work in in the future with their applications in producing robots, art, advertisement and so on. This has resulted in the number of students aspiring for a career in this area and enrolling in computer-based programs surging dramatically. Besides, a vast majority of people are unable to make decisions about their studies and just follow the temporary trends regardless of their interests. For example, in recent years, many individuals have chosen to study robot engineering, causing the number of applicants for the subject to increase significantly. In my opinion, the trend where students opt for computer-based programs and not science is negative. First and foremost, if students continuously turn down science studies, science teachers will face the risk of being fired as there are not enough students to run the classes. Consequently, the unemployment rate in the society may rise considerably, retarding the development of a country. For instance, a large number of biology teachers in Vietnam have lost their jobs in the last two years due to an inadequate number of students applying. Another downside to consider is that as the vast majority of people pursue an occupation regarding technology, other fields will have to cope with the insufficiency in their workforce, leading to a financially unbalanced community. In conclusion, computer-based curricula becoming more popular in institutions, from my perspective, is an outcome of innovative technology and students ’ indecisiveness. As it deprives science teachers of their income and creates an unbalanced society, I strongly believe it is a negative development.