People are consuming more and more sugar-based drinks? Why? What can be done to reduce sugar drink consumption?

These days, every time we turn on the television or flick through the pages of a magazine, we learn about a healthy lifestyle. However, the number of people who take in soft drinks, especially teenagers, experiences a sharp increase. In this essay, I will look at some possibilities leading to this phenomenon and also draw some solutions. Let's begin with the reasons why consumers are so in love with sugar-based drinks. First of all, the taste of these drink is so attractive that help to work up customers' appetite. The majority of the ingredients are sweet-tasting substances, which are favourable for people of all ages. Secondly, the price of this product is also affordable. Coca-Cola, one of the most popular soft drink brand, for example, sell only 1 or 2 dollars per bottle, which is much cheaper than other beverages such as orange juice and smoothie. Turning to the other point of the essay, there are various ways to tackle the problems. One of the most possible solutions is that the government should impose higher taxes on fizzy drinks. By doing so, the community will gradually change their buying behaviour when they can purchase rich nutritional products at the same price as unhealthy ones. In addition, the media should get involved in order to propagate a healthy lifestyle. The young generations are especially widely affected by social platforms like Facebook and Instagram in terms of eating habits. For instance, there have been many zero-sugar campaigns driven by celebrities to eliminate the usage of high-fat food, which may lead to obesity in some Western countries. In conclusion, there are two main reasons leading to the overconsumption of sugary beverages, which is the savouring taste and cheap price. Hence, it is about time for the authorities and social platforms to join in and encourage the community to a rich nutrient diet.