Air traffic is increasingly leading to more noise pollution and airport construction. One reason for this is the growth in low-cost passenger flight, often to hold holiday destination. Some people say that government should try to reduce air traffic by taxing it more heavily. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays flying many aeroplanes is negatively impacting the environment through noise pollution. Nations are constructing more airports. Proponents suggest taxes on flight fares should be made pricey as a means of solving the above problem. I do not agree with this. To begin with, holidays are an essential part of our lives. Travelling for long hours can negatively impact one's life. Scientists have attested to the development of clots in human legs with long hours of journeying. Meanwhile, most people like to spend their holidays in other nations or even far away places to enjoy beautiful weather and sceneries. To make a quick travel, air crafts are convenient. I can understand why some of the fares are way cheaper. Flying a plane covers the same distances over shorter periods compared with travelling by land or sea. It also saves time. Most modern items are already expensive. I therefore do not agree that flight fares should be highly taxed to deter people from travelling. It is an infringement on their rights. On the other hand, proponents of heavily taxing plane fares are making suggestions that will in the long run reduce noise pollution by flying aircraft and the need to construct more airports. The aeroplane manufacturers should find a way to make flying planes that make very little or no noise. This will save us all the bother. Also, the use of more helicopters could be adopted and their use does not necessarily require expanding or building additional airports. To sum up, I can understand that reduced flight fare has increased the rate of travel with consequent environmental problems. In spite of this, I do not think it is fair to put in measures that will make it difficult for people to enjoy their holidays. People are working hard and should live a free and fair life.