Some businesses find that their new employees lack basic interpersonal skills such as cooperative skills. What are the causes? Suggest possible solutions.

Recently, certain employers revealed that their fresh employees fail to display satisfactory skills when dealing with various stakeholders. In my perspective, this failure in social and interpersonal skills is influenced by the existing educational methodology, and certain positive curriculum moderations will solve this issue in the future. When underlying causes are concerned, one of the most prominent facts is the individualized education system in many learning institutes. Mainly, with the invention of the distance learning technology, many students are allowed to learn from home, especially after the COVID-19 pandemic. For instance, number of the distance learners has increased by 850% in 2021 compared to 2019. As a result, these pupils have limited opportunities to collaborate with their peers. In addition, due to availability of various internet learning sources, the majority of students do not study as teams. Hence, when they become professionals after studies, they have no or less prior experience to work with people. However, this trend can be overturned by the educational authorities if they take necessary countermeasures immediately. Because these interpersonal skills can be taught in both universities and schools. They must include some lessons of personality and interpersonal skills to their curriculum while restricting the time for online lectures. The success of this methodology is proven in Sri Lanka, as few private engineering institutes initiated this, few years ago, and the graduates who went through the soft skill enhancement lessons are in higher demand nowadays. Furthermore, employers also must have some internal training mechanism to improve the social and interpersonal skills of their newly joined employees with lesser skills. In conclusion, the problem of lack of soft skills of new generation employees has been mainly influenced by the lessening of teamwork in educational institutes. Therefore, to mitigate this issue, authorities must reduce the distance learning time while providing adequate lessons to develop students’ interpersonal skills.