The most essential component of a person's life is his or her time at the workplace, and life turns meaningless once no job satisfaction is obtained. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The increasingly specialised nature of today’s jobs could be said to have created many jobs that provide little satisfaction - while some argue that job satisfaction is not necessary, since people can find meaning in other things, there are those who contend that people not finding joy in their jobs will inevitably fall into nihilism. I agree with the latter opinion, and believe that finding a job one likes is essential to living a meaningful life. On the one hand, there are those who believe that for some, working jobs that they do not necessarily enjoy provides them the opportunity to provide for their children. A boring but high paying job may be able to provide for a child’s education, housing and more, and the alternative of starvation would be much less meaningful. Thus, although they might not find meaning in their job, it might feel fulfilling enough for them that their life has meaning because they are living for a cause bigger than themselves. This is why many individuals, for instance, continue to do menial jobs that they nonetheless do not find meaningful, instead of simply quitting. On the other hand, I argue that since we spend most of our adult lives at work, it is imperative that we spend that time enjoying what we do. This is because an unenjoyable job can bleed into other areas of our lives - if we come from work frustrated, we are more prone to taking it out on our children or our partners. Moreover, a stressful and unsatisfying job might also affect one’s health and diminish the ability to enjoy things. This means that in the end, we not only have little joy in working, but also other areas of life as well. Thus, I conclude that while it is understandable that many have to work jobs that give them no joy, I still nonetheless argue that doing so in the long run will result in moral nihilism and harm others.