popular hobbies and interests change over time and are more a reflection of trends and fashions than an indication of what individuals really wants to do in their spare time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The way people spend their leisure time is influenced by fashionable trends which are upgrading each year and it is becoming less common for people to pick up their hobbies based on personal pleasure. While I partly agree with this assertion, I cannot deny the important role of individual entertainments each person follows. On the one hand, with advances in technology and widespread use of the internet as well as social media, people have more access to a range of activities and recreational ways than before. For example, a person from a desert region may not be familiar with sports like surfing which is commonplace in coastal cities, so with shared videos and feelings he or she may try and therefore choose it as a hobby. Moreover, popular ways of spending leisure may partly distract a person from what they have chosen, but they will never have long-term affection for their main hobbies. On the other hand, we humans are still separable through our characteristics and despite the deep impact of trends, we mostly enjoy doing whatever we are good at and what matches our personality as well. Furthermore, recreational options that modernized community offers populations could be easily ignored by those who are already fond of something to do in their free time, otherwise these trends can even lead them to a wider world of hobbies to pick reflecting a feeling they have been looking for. In conclusion, although there are some famous, changeable hobbies around the world following yearly trends, I believe people still consider personal perspectives to do a particular activity.