Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

In this competitive world, university degrees are currently cited to be more essential than hands-on experiences by some employers when they seek new candidates. Some underlying reasons can be listed for this phenomenon and I am of the opinion that it is a completely negative movement. There are several causes why some job recruiters consider university qualifications more important than life experiences and personal qualities. One common point is that some companies utilize academic degrees as a foundation to value individuals' competencies. To put it more simply, in many prestigious universities, some fields and technical subjects require people to comprehend hard required knowledge and information. As a result, achieving qualifications from those subjects may prove the capabilities of specific people when applying for recruitment. Another worth mentioning reason is that it can save time wasted when recruiting for companies as well. To be more specific, giving an overall review of a candidate's life competencies and qualities involves a considerable amount of time. However, I think that companies and recruiters should not apply this approach on a large scale. In other words, many youngsters after finishing courses at university have taken a gap year with a view to gain more hands-on experiences, thereby gaining many vital soft and interpersonal skills. By doing such a thing, it brings positive impacts on both themselves and the company itself. In other words, almost all prominent businesses often look for people who are competent in those skills to help the whole company develop, besides helping candidates grab more opportunities to ascend the career ladder. To sum up, this trend is attributable to two main reasons and I believe that this is a negative approach to the above-mentioned arguments.