Some university student want to learn about other subject in addition to their main subjects. Other believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to study for a qualification. Discuss both view and give your opinion

There are students from university who wants to add minor subjects in their programs, while others believe that focusing on what is needed is more vital. In my opinion, although learning other topics may add general knowledge to students, specialising on the subjects that will deepen their knowledge about the degree will be more helpful in the future. To begin, learning minor subjects is applied to some curriculums to improve the general knowledge of students, such as arts or languages. This is common in many universities in the Philippines, where students have at least 11 to 12 subjects every semester and five of them are additional subjects. These were included to expand their expertise on other areas, for example, if one is taking an accountancy major, learning about Spanish or French may open an opportunity for them to work in a company that value multi-linguals in the future. Meanwhile, those who oppose this idea and thinks that students should focus on the topics which tackles about the program to master it and become competent in that profession. Take medicine for instance, this is one of the degrees that requires a lot of time and focus to study about the different internal and external factors of a human body. Therefore, to add extra subjects that are irrelevant to medicine may divert their interests, which could affect their studies. However, they may join clubs or extra curricular activities to diversify their learning experience in the institution. In conclusion, adding subjects that student are eager to learn may enhance their knowledge and opportunities in other fields. I believe focusing on specific related subjects is more vital as they would be able to master the program and become good at what they do in the future.