Some employers offer their employees subsidized membership of gyms and sport clubs, believing that this will make their staff healthier and thus more effective at work. Other employers see no benefit in doing so. Consider the arguments from both aspects of this possible debate, and reach a conclusion.

Employers always struggle to find ways to increase their employees' productivity. Subsidizing health programs is one way to pursue such a goal. There are arguments on this matter, which we will discuss here. On the one hand, health programs would decrease the staff's level of stress which might result in better functioning at the workplace. Also, employees would have a more balanced life/work, because they have more leisure time in their daily routines. Therefore, it would be motivating to use some of the budget of companies to invest in health and sports areas, rather than paying increments, perks, or financial rewards such as incentives and bonuses which could be hard to achieve. On the contrary, a major drawback of leisure-based subsidies is that their outcome on employees' performance cannot be measured accurately. Nonetheless, the budget could be used for on-the-day training or ongoing training which their efficiency could be easily traced. Moreover, training your own workforce encourages them for career progression and to have better job prospects. All of these matters could be measured in be used in performance reviews and appraisals, and as a result, they reduce the possibility of a redundancy of the workforce in case of restructuring, downsizing, or outsourcing. To conclude, health and sports subsidies could be highly motivating, but there is a significant shortcoming which is their effect on your workforce cannot be precisely measured. Yet, we can use the budget on training to motivate them to have a better job prospects, and prevent losing our human resources in case of restructuring, downsizing, or outsourcing.