Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals believe that sugary products should be more expensive, and with this increasement in price there would be a consume reduction. I totally agree with this statement not only because sugar has a direct impact on the public health care system, but also because sugar has an addiction power and should follow the same rules as others vice products. The main reason I support the idea of sugar products more expensive, it is because of the impact on the public health care system. It is well known that sugar causes a series of health problems to those who consume more than the recommended, and unfortunately, it brings a several number of people to the hospitals every year. For instance, there are numerous cases of deseases related to sugar, such as obesity and diabetes. Furthermore, sugar is considered a substance that causes addiction, and brings a negative impact to the population. There are a range of different rules and laws related to substances that cause addiction, and brings health issues to the society, and sugar should be treated the same way those products are. For example, sugar causes health problems just like alcohol and tabacco, but the sugar industry is not penalized for those problems. In conclusion, I strongly agree that the sugar products should be more expensive because of the negative impact on the health care system of our country, and also to be fair with other industries that pay high taxes because of the problems caused by their products, just like sugar does.