Fewer students are studying science at school and university, favouring more computer based subjects instead. Is this a positive or negative development? What are the reasons for this?

It is stated that there are more students choosing computer-based courses over students who study science in formal and higher education. While science is seen as an important subject, I suppose that this phenomenon is rather a positive development.  Nowadays, digital devices such as phones and computers are vital in our daily lives as a medium for communication, information, entertainment, and profession. Adapting to digital society is not always easy, there are challenges in operating the devices, the issue of digital literacy, and so many more. How crucial and urgent it has become is the most significant reason for students to be given the lessons and information about this field in higher education. Next, it is undeniable that nowadays the development of technology, especially artificial intelligence, has taken over the environment of the workforce. Occupations such as data analyst, data scientist, and software developer are in high demand in many industries to survive in the digital era. The tech industry is dominating society since many people need them in their activities. Moreover, there are numerous jobs that are being replaced by technology and artificial intelligence. Hence, being able to work as a technology and AI developer is a great job opportunity in the current era. Therefore, one of the ways to be able to adapt in this transformation is to obtain skills and knowledge in computer-based subjects. In conclusion, it is most likely that everything will eventually become digitalised. For this reason, students favouring computer-based subjects rather than science is not a negative development, since skills related to computers will benefit many fields in the future.