As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Some people believe that, during the course of our human lives, careers occupy almost all of our time. Thus, job satisfaction reflects how an individual feels about their life as a whole and plays a key role as a well-being person. This essay aims to illuminate certain aspects and explore the reasons why a fulfilling and satisfying work environment is no longer an impossible aspiration in modern society. To begin with, there are various personal and work -related factors that contribute to obtaining a fulfilling professional life. On a personal level, it is about financial burden. According to Maslow (1943, 1954), the satisfaction of basic survival needs is necessary for people to fulfill their higher needs, which will naturally make them feel more driven and happier about doing it and not consider it a burden. Employers should optimize their salary policies to encourage innovation in the workplace. As well-known research found, 45% of employees were motivated to work harder when they received a higher salary, which helped to mitigate stress and had a positive effect on mental health and well-being. On a work -related level, employers can create a physical environment to enhance the performance of workers. This feature includes the size, layout, location, whether work is done inside or outside, the amenities available, and the furniture utilized. However, we should admit the reality that job satisfaction is difficult to realize. In many developing countries, such as Thailand, Vietnam, and China, the wages received by workers fail to sufficiently reflect the level of effort they dedicate to their jobs. In addition, the competition in the labor market and working environment is the most concerning when humans face the cost of living. This is the reason they have to choose professions they barely like. The realization of job satisfaction is hard to achieve, even though the institution has attached much importance to this concept. In conclusion, having looked at this topic in detail, although it is true that it is unlikely that all workers do feel happy at work, on balance, I am of the opinion that companies should identify the problems to improve, and more people can feel greater degrees of job satisfaction.