Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification.

People have different view that should college students spend all their time on compulsory lessons. While obtaining a qualification is a predominate work for undergraduates, I still believe students should be allowed to choose some extracurricular courses considering their future developments. On the one hand, it is important to acquire a qualification for undergraduates. For one thing, the diploma is evidence that you have satisfied the demand of graduation. If someone does not get this certification, he will meet many difficulties when he enters society. For another, compulsory courses are the fundament to learn more complex contents, which means it is pointless to learn some deep subjects if you are not grasp these basic lessons. Take the computer science, for example, if you only can write simple programs which are not meet the graduation requirements, you may feel the artificial intelligence technology is very hard to understand. On the other hand, learning other subjects in addition to their main subjects has many benefits. Firstly, the wide range of knowledge will help students to become complex talents, which will give them more choices when they are looking for jobs. Secondly, extensive learning can help the public to know more about the world, so they can more easily make the right decision when they are in a crisis environment. For instance, if a postgraduate has taken business administration and accounting courses, they can deal with an enterprise financial crisis more facile. To summarize, although acquiring a qualification is a pivotal thing for university students, I approve that they can take some time to attend some courses in addition to their main subjects because these lessons will bring numerous advantages to them.