Some people say history is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than history. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a debate among groups of people who believe that Science and technology subjects are more important in a school curriculum when the other group believes that subjects like history are important too. In my point of view, I believe that Science and Technology should be encouraged more in the school syllabus while not totally excluding the subjects like history as well. This essay will discuss the importance of giving Science subjects a priority than others. With the development of science, throughout the years, led the world to globalization, hence, the world has changed and has made life easier for the people. It has created a lot of job opportunities for people and will always be in demand of new recruitment of young brilliant minds as Science always continue to develop and many are still yet to be discovered in the world. Since it is the current trend in the world, children from younger ages should be taught about science at least from the middle school years. Not only Science, technology subject is also is trending nowadays. To stress this point, back in early 2010, only biological sciences and Physical sciences were in the Science Stream in Advanced Level syllabus in Sri Lanka. However, now they have added a technology syllabus in to Join the words into show examples the science stream because Ministry of Education has learnt the importance of Science and Technology. With globalization, the world has now become a one global village, where people work with different countries by collaborating and as well as migrating to other countries and sharing knowledge all around the world. Therefore, people have to deal with colleagues who has different cultural backgrounds. Not understanding other cultures and upbringings can lead to have conflicts with each other. This is where the importance of history as a subject can be highlighted. There, students are taught about civilization from Stone Age to the present, the history of wars and politics as well as the Renaissance and industrial revolution that will help to polish their attitudes and understanding other ways of lives. In conclusion, even though we have come far with the development of science and technology we still have a long way to go and we have to do as united as we can. Therefore, Science and technology should be key subjects in a school curriculum as well as subjects like history should also be included.