People are consuming more and more sugar-based drinks. Why? What can be done to reduce sugary drink consumption?

Although sugar-based minerals are scientifically proven to be one of the primary culprits of obesity and other metabolic diseases, the consumption of these products has been increasing in recent years. This essay will put forward some causes that contribute to this trend and propose a few feasible solutions to mitigate the situation. To begin with, there are two main reasons for this negative upswing. Firstly, sugary drinks are inexpensive and easily stored because they are composed of cheap ingredients namely water, sugar flavouring agent and preservatives but at the same time, their taste is adjusted to be similar to fresh and pure products or even better. Therefore, instead of making fresh orange juice which takes more time and money, consumers might prefer to buy a big cheap can of orange drink and use it for several days without any effort. Secondly, drinking corporations have launched multiple advertising campaigns to promote the consumption of sugary drinks since these products could drive huge profits for them. For example, the Coca-Cola company has spent billions of dollars on their worldwide advertisement, with the involvement of many celebrities and television shows and this has made their production, which is a sugary and carbonated drink, one of the most popular drinks in the whole world. Fortunately, there are some measures that can be adopted to reverse this trend. First of all, the government need to raise the taxes on sugary drinks since drinking corporations have made a huge profit from their mass production. As a result, the final prices of these unhealthy drinks will be increased so that consumers will look for alternative options. In addition, label marking needs to be compulsory for all drinking products to discriminate minerals with high and low levels of sugar. Finally, supermarkets can place sugary drinks as well as other unhealthy products in far corners that their customers barely visit so that consumers can consider healthier options in the first place. In conclusion, the number of sugar-based consumers has been rising because of its low prices and convenient features, along with marketing campaigns of the manufacturing companies. However, both the government and societies can take steps to address this pressing issue, including higher taxes, label marking and in-store location arrangements for unhealthy products.