The increase in the production of consumer goods result in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve the problem?

In modern life, it is irrefutable that the surge in the demand for consumer products has left detrimental effects on the natural environment. However, the central questions here are why such an adverse relationship between the increasing goods consumption and our nature has occurred, and what solutions can be executed to address this issue. The purpose of this essay is to investigate the reasons behind this phenomenon and then, propose some possible measures. To begin with, one of the primary factors resulting in the negative impacts of producing necessities excessively is its manufacturing process, which has significantly contributed to the pollution. In major cases, factories use numerous chemicals and heavy metals during their production. In addition, they also release greenhouse gases into the air and nearby water sources, which considerably harm the neighboring ecosystems, wildlife and human health. The fashion industry is a typical example of water pollution due to its dyeing and finishing of textiles. To mitigate this issue, it is advisable for governments to enforce regulations on the use of harmful chemicals and the release of emissions in goods production, as well as introduce incentive schemes to encourage manufacturers to pursue green manufacturing practices. Another main contributor to the natural problems is waste generation. Currently, most goods are made of disposal, single-use, or non-recyclable materials, which tend to gradually create waste accumulation in landfills. For instance, plastic used for packaging can persist in the environment for centuries. Therefore, the solution to this issue is for consumers to shift their consumption to recycled material and eco-friendly products. Besides, the effort should also come from the producers' side to change to more sustainable production. In conclusion, the environmental damages were caused by several problems associated with the manufacture of the daily goods manufacture. For a long-term outcome, it generally necessitates a collaborative effort among governments, individuals and producers to protect nature while meeting individuals' demand for basic products.