The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

The number of children who suffer from obesity in western nations has surged by nearly 20% in the last decade. The reasons for this trend are the increase of fast food advertisements and the sedentary lifestyle, which can lead to a significant burden on the healthcare system. The reason for the increasing number of overweight children can be accounted for by the rise of fast food advertisements. Fast food now is promoted publicly on all social media with various promotion campaigns to attract children without any nutrition facts or health warnings being mentioned. For instance, KFC or McDonald's often include small toys in their children ’s meals and give discount codes to schoolchildren for buying their products. Another reason is that children are now being hampered to engage in physical activities both at school and at home. As the peer pressure increases, they are now required to achieve good grades in academic subjects while attending several soft skills classes to support a well-rounded education, which results in minimum time for playing or exercising. The primary issue that Western countries have to face is increased health problems in younger ages. As it's widely recognized that unhealthy food that is high in calories, sodium and sugar can lead to several health issues such as heart disease, stroke and diabetes, children who are diagnosed with obesity often require intensive care to maintain their health. While in many western regions, children are offered with free medical care, this can put a huge burden on the welfare system when they have to cover more children with severe diseases and disorders. In conclusion, the rising number of obese children in western countries is caused by the increase in advertisement for fast food and minimum time for playing sports. This can cost the healthcare system a significant amount of money to take care of these children.