Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued whether university students should be allowed to study subjects of their own choice or they should be restricted to study science and technology related subjects. This essay argues that despite the fact that studying these subjects will help in developing the world, I believe that learners will be able to show their real potential by studying what they like. Studying subjects such as science and technology will make the world more advanced by making developments in technology or finding a cure for incurable diseases. The knowledge of these subjects would help learners to discover new things or make innovations in the existing ones. This will change the world, as they would probably be able to search answers of many unanswered questions in the field of science and technology. Take India as an example, where government is trying to inculcate STEM learning in universities by limiting students ' subject choice to science and technology, as country needs to be developed scientifically and digitally. However, this is a short-sighted view, and would not help in future. Students will be able to perform better, if they are allowed to choose subjects of their own choice. When they are given freedom to explore the area of their interest, they will strive to give their best. At the same time, they will try to find alternatives of doing the same thing by using different strategies. For instance, The United States of America is one of the developed nations, as the major reason behind this is that the educational curriculum is too flexible and focuses mainly on the learners' interest, which allows them to do better in their area of interest. For this reason, it is one of the countries with massive numbers of scientists and technologists. In conclusion, I believe that allowing students to make their own study choice helps them to take their real potential out rather than narrowing down their study options for the sake of country's development.