employers some times ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. some people say that this information may be relevent and useful. others disagree. discuss about these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, job interviews become a hot topic as the growing number of graduates are seeking ideal vacant positions from potential employers. However, some employers tend to require more personal details including hobbies, marriage status, etc. Some human resources professionals explain that it is essential, while others including applicants themselves disagree. Personally, I support the former claim for a better understanding of candidates. Proponents claim the detailed personal profile will provide a whole picture of the candidate, who would be considered thoroughly whether he or she is qualified for the position. Meanwhile, candidate's personality will be rationalized with the profile as the supporting information. Furthermore, Human Resource Department can design the training programs which will be aligned with the long-term career development plan. However, opponents are questioning whether it is necessary for candidates to provide their sensitive personal information. Until now, there is no strong proofs of employees' capabilities influenced by personalities. For instance, whether the candidate is single or married has nothing to do with work competency. Even, sometimes it may cause discrimination when recruiting a female employee who supposed to take maternity leave in coming years. In addition, revealing personal information will possibly ignite privacy issues as well. In conclusion, it is not easy for a recruiter to identify the high potential when reading a large amount of resumes and interviewing candidates round after round. A comprehensive candidate profile will help employer find ideal candidate to fill the vacant positions and work out appropriate employee development strategy accordingly. Meanwhile, it is employers' responsibility to handle the sensitive information cautiously and avoid any possible bias in processing the recruitment.