Some people believe that professional athletes serve as positive role models for young people, while others argue that their behaviour both on and off the field, can have negative influences. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Nowadays professional sportsmen, who stand as a role model for young people, may have crucial consequences on youth. While some people believe they may have negative effects as influence is also formed on athlete’s behaviour off the field, I agree with those who are sure that professional athletes affect youngsters in a positive way, because lots of young people are keen on sports due to their idols. Some people are convinced that professional athletes have a negative effect on youth due to their life outside the scene. A lot of professional sportsmen, for example, bodybuilders use tons of steroids and other drugs, which can have lethal consequences. Not informing about deadly supplements that athletes use, leads to young people following their idols, thus ruining their health. This is an important issue, which may be solved only after sportsmen will stop keeping silent regarding their sport supplements. On the other hand, some people believe that sports heroes serve as a positive role model for the youth, by inspiring lots of young men not to quit sports in life, and I side with this point of view. Youngsters by the affection of their icons actively engage in sports, thus developing their stamina and bulking up muscles. This, in turn, has huge health benefits such as steady heart pulse, strong body carcass, faster reaction time. For example, a recent study in the New York Times claims that 67% of young men, who let sports take over their life, are healthier than the part of youth, who do not engage through sports. In conclusion, while some people are sure that professional athletes may have negative effects on youngsters due to the use of drugs, I agree with those who argue that sports idols benefit their fans by inspiring them to engage in sports, thus helping youth appear healthier.