To solve the problem of traffic congestion govt should provide free public transport 24*7. To what extent do you agree or disagree. more disagree as there could be so many other ways to sort it out. It helps companies to change the working hours

Traffic congestion is an ongoing concern among the public. Many people believe that providing free 24/7 public transport could be a possible solution to address the issue. In my opinion, while I agree with this statement, I believe that there are other methods which could be more beneficial in tackling the problem. This essay will discuss my opinion in detail with relevant examples. On the one hand, this approach has immense social benefits and reduces the environmental impacts. This is to say that such a free mode of transport improves accessibility for lower income groups and reduces road accidents which ensures public safety. In addition, it helps in reducing carbon emissions, decreases pollution and promotes sustainable travel. For instance, it is evident that it certainly improves air quality because of fewer cars on the roads. On the other hand, we could implement alternative solutions to combat the traffic issue in order to minimise the economic implications of implementing free public transport. Firstly, budget considerations must be taken into account before we make this method a widespread reality as it directly impacts the tax-paying citizens. However, we can introduce alternatives such as encouraging carpooling or raising congestion charges. Furthermore, the government can influence remote work incentives which motivate employees to work from home. For example, in Canada, IT companies have introduced remote work which significantly reduced commuters during peak hours. To conclude, while recognising the benefits of a free public transport system, stressing the importance of alternatives which would reduce the burden of economic impacts, also help us to overcome the challenges.