The natural resources, such as oil, forests, and fresh water, are being consumed at an alarming rate. What problems does it cause? How can we solve these problems?

It cannot be denied that the advancement of science has brought solutions to numerous challenging problems, both major and minor ones, in our everyday life, which leads some to believe that technology will also eventually tackle the dire shortage of natural resources we are about to face. However, such an opinion needs to be scrutinized meticulously before a conclusion can be reached. First and foremost, the fast consumption and resulting shortage of natural resources has a severely negative impact on the life of people: for those in developed regions of the world, tons of time and resources at both the governmental and individual level have to be poured into the expensive collection, purchasing, processing and distribution of resources, causing a significant drop in people’s purchasing power and quality of life; for those in the less developed parts of the world, with no financial power for procuring resources (occupied by the rich or sold to powerful nations), citizens might even have to face death due to the shortage of key resources such as clean water, causing a fierce competition for natural resources, civil unrest, and even war. In the end, regardless of where he or she is on this planet, no one can escape. Some might claim that technology is the panacea, as it helped us find and exploit various new forms of resources. Ironically, the direction in which our technological advancement is heading has already been diverted by the fast consumption and shortage of natural resources to remedying instead of resolving problems. For instance, in the United States, the biggest economy of the world, tons of resources and elite personnel that could have been devoted to expanding the boundary of mankind in space and deep-sea exploration now have to be allocated to the research of reducing the cost of extracting oil, forming a vicious cycle. In the end, it is a conglomeration of individual effort, governmental regulation, and technological breakthrough that would ultimately overcome the problems brought by the shortage of natural resources. At the personal level, citizens ought to counter the influence of materialism and consumerism in the modern society, purchasing and using only what they truly need; at the governmental level, a deep sense of frugality has to be planted in education, penalties issued to both individuals and organizations that waste resources, and financial incentives given to those who are at the forefront of the exploration of new and cleaner forms of natural resources – it is only through such a synergy that we will eventually develop an effective and sustainable way of life for our civilization.