Some people think that only staff who worked in a company for a long time should be promoted to a higher position. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it’s very common that a person who has worked with the company for a long period of time will be treated better and promoted to a higher position. I suppose that is because they’re more experienced and ready to carry more responsibilities. However, I suggest that it shouldn’t be the only condition for getting the promotion. For that reason given, I have to disagree with the given statement. The majority of people who work in a company want to be successful and because the higher their position, the more successful they will be. Therefore, it’s common for them to demand a promotion. Although it’s not an easy task for them to complete, because often the company refuses to give them a promotion as they’re not working with them for long enough. I believe that the company shouldn’t judge the quality of the person by just the number of years, instead of capability is the indication. For instance, their sales, dedication or achievement. In conclusion, modern day society emphasize the years of work over everything which is just numbers and cannot be used to judge the value of that person. Rather than that, the company has to look deep down to see their true potential.