Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

There are discussions around whether manufacturers and stores or customers should be responsible for the problem of over packaged products. While some may argue that only factories and supermarkets can change the amount of package used, I believe that customers should have greater responsibility as the high sales of such goods is the ultimate reason why manufacturers are producing them. Proponents of the former view Without a doubt, factories and the stores are the ones who package the goods. When they receive the base product, it is up to them to decide how much wrappings should be used. For example, fruits and vegetables are transported to supermarkets in their rawest forms, and then they are packaged with excessive plastic wrappings and stickers. So, some may think that only factories and stores can solve the problem because it is them who package the items. However, it is my belief that the needs from customers are the ultimate reason for the large amount of wrapped items. Manufacturers need to pay extra expenses for more packaging, and they are willing to do so because such products sell better. For instance, a survey has found out that when consumers are given the choices of products with minimal packaging or over packaged commodities, most of them will choose the latter one as it is fancier. If customers prefer items with minimal packaging more, factories and supermarkets will naturally package their goods less as overpackaging will damage their sales. In conclusion, although manufacturers and supermarkets are the ones who produce over packaged goods, I believe that consumers are responsible for the problem as their need for excessive packaging is the primary reason for this burning issue.