Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugar which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a rising number of health issues which are associated with high-sugar food and drink consumption. I agree that higher sugary products ’ prices will prevent people from purchasing and consuming them. Because this effort will be part of health promotion. However, it should be balanced by increasing people ’s awareness towards the negative impact of sugary products on their health. Eating food or drinking beverages with high levels of sugar definitely will put people in health risks. Some diseases are caused by this habit, such as obesity and diabetes. Thus, health campaigns are massively performed to encourage people to consume less surgery products. Increasing these products ’s prices will work in the same direction as other health campaigns. People will put several considerations into purchasing the products when their prices are getting higher. For instance, when it comes to looking for refreshing drinks because people get thirsty, many people will go with sweet drinks. But, if these kinds of drinks cost one or two folds from mineral water, then they will tend to purchase mineral water. On the other hand, people's awareness regarding the consumption of sugary products is also highlighted. Disadvantageous risks from excessive consumption of these products will put their health in high risk conditions. Some of them do have some concerns, but the others do not. Thus, an informational or education program is required. For example, regular webinars on the importance of limiting sugar intake are held by a lot of health institutions in Indonesia since its high numbers of obese and diabetic patients. Overall, it will be impactful to raise health conditions by combining charging more food and drinks with high content of sugar and educating people regarding the products’ potential risks.