With the development of social media, more and more youngsters are being allowed unsupervised access to the internet in order to meet and chat with friends which can lead to potentially dangerous situations. What solutions can you suggest to deal with this problem?

Social media has become a global phenomenon and the new biggest craze, particularly amongst the youth. Although, it is a great platform in terms of communication between friends and family there are many dangerous situations that can occur within this context. With the dramatic rise in popularity of social media there are many teenagers and young adults exploring websites or engaging in various forms of communication that a responsible adult may be unaware of. It has also become incredibly easy to pursue a fake persona on the internet, for instance a 40 year old man could be under the disguise of a 15 year old girl. In order to keep children more protected, guardians should establish parental control and inhibit the use of any peculiar websites or chat pages. In addition to this, parents should inform their children about the dangers of such platforms and ensure open and honest speech with their offspring. If a teenager is more comfortable in the presence of an adult figure they will be more likely to indulge in who they are talking to on social media. For example, if a youngster wanted to face time their colleague then an authority figure could be sat in the background to make sure they are safe. Furthermore, shutting the internet off after a certain time at night decreases the likelihood of any disturbing or predatory behaviour from occurring. Moreover, checking their young's devices at random unannounced times would give a more thorough idea and determine if there is any cause of concern. In conclusion, I believe there are a few solutions that can help overcome the dangers of the internet. For instance, raising awareness and enabling honest and open dialect with the younger generation.