Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many food companies produce unhealthy products with high level of harmful content which leads to many disorders. Some individuals strongly support the nation that the cost of these materials to be increased remarkably eventually limiting their use. Admittedly, I completely agree that the increasing price of these kinds of products will lead to less consumption of them. Firstly, the important step is that food companies use good quality of content to manufacture products, even products will become more expensive. To elaborate it, when they use low cost materials in production of food, middle class people purchase it as a cheaper products but it would be harmful for them. For instance, in 2020, a survey conducted by World Health Organization (WHO) revealed that 40 out of 100 in Pakistan had a higher body mass index (BMI) due to take huge quantity of sugary products. As a consequence, the authority should impose taxes, directly and indirectly, on those sugary items to make them unaffordable by people and improve public health. Yet, another axiomatic argument is that companies always think about the profit and set the prices of products according to it. If it is not cost-effective for them to add more expensive sugar to their products, they will restrict it and consequently replace it with some healthy contents. To take an example, recently a research paper published in the renowned journal “Elsevier” highlighted that 60% food manufactured companies used low quality ingredients in Pakistan. Hence, these dangerous products may cause many diseases in humans, sometime results in the form of death. In conclusion, I believe the idea of increasing the price of unhealthy raw materials can lead to restriction of their usage.