In many countries today there are many highly qualified graduates without employment. What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, can/should be done about it?

In today’s world, more and more people who graduate with high qualifications now become unemployed. In my opinion, the reasons for this situation are the lack of work-related skills and the high expectation in these adults and the solution is to add more soft skill courses into universities’ curriculum. The first cause for this trend is the lack of essential soft skills that are required for the workspace. Employers now require their employees to have several sets of skills besides academic knowledge in order to fulfill job requirements. However, despite their profound knowledge of the chosen field, graduates with high-level diplomas often have inadequate abilities in other areas such as language, computer skills, communication and self-management to be successful in the modern workplace. Another reason for the unemployment in adults who have high-level education is that, more often than not, they have great expectations about jobs and work environment. As their diplomas involve a significant amount of time and money, these employees expect to find job positions with high salary and competence extra benefits like leave days, insurance, yearly bonus and travel allowance. This can hamper them from finding the suitable roles as not every company can offer that with a new employee. In my opinion, the solution for this trend is to support students with essential, work-related soft skills during their course. This will ensure that graduates can have sufficient skills, besides their own chosen field’s knowledge, to fulfill their future job requirements. For example, more universities and colleges in Vietnam now require their students to have an international qualification in language before graduating. They also host several workshops to share tips and instruct their students about how to write impressive work portfolios, how to manage time while working and how to communicate effectively in the workplace. It’s clear that graduates from these institutions tend to have better chances to have a good job position in the future. In conclusion, many adults with higher tier diplomas now suffer from unemployment because they don’t have essential skills for the workplace while having great requirements for their jobs. This situation can be solved by incorporating soft skill courses into students’ curriculum in university.