It costs a lot of money for a country to host an international sports event, such as the Olympic Games or football World Cup. Some people think that this is wasted money, while others believe the opposite. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that spend a mountain of money for a country to organize a global sports event, such as the Olympic Games or football World Cup is wasted money. While others believe that this will bring numerous benefits. While both viewpoints are valid, I lean towards the latter. There are convincing reasons why some opine that this is misspent. Firstly, these events demand high quality of facilities and infrastructure, so the country must incur numerous costs to renovations the infrastructure such as transportation, bridges or airports, this can consume billions of dollars. Next, organization and operation are also too costly, these expenses include costs for security forces, healthcare and other services. Another reason is international sports need to be widely advertised to attract spectators, this can cost money on advertising, social media and other activities. However, I would argue that the world championships are beneficial for the host country. There are many benefits for the host country when hosting a global sporting event. International competitions can be appealing to countless tourists worldwide. This can help the hosting community's tourism and economic development. For example, according to estimate by the International Olympic Committee, Rio 2016 Olympic Games has brought for Brazil 7,3 billion dollars revenue and created two hundred fifty thousand jobs. Secondly, this also help raise awareness about the host country around the world, which can be profitable for diplomatic and commerce targets. Furthemore, international sports can help promote solidarity and peace between countries. For instance, the Olympic Games are occasion for sportspeople around the world to compete and interact with each other. In conclusion, although both views are valid to some extent, I still opine that transnational sports can be beneficial for the host country.