Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on society? You should write at least 250 words.

University students around the world are losing their interest in science for various reasons, the causes include, lack of early education and restricted job opportunities in the future. Such trends will reduce the competitiveness of a society in the long term. There are a few causes for the decreasing number of students in science fields, first of all, many governments fail to provide sufficient educational resources and adequate stimulus in early education institutes to inspire youth to continue their study of science. For example, most public schools are not able to build labs for young individuals to conduct experiments and help them to convert theory into practice. Secondly, undergraduates nowadays are more concerned about their income after graduation to pay back their student loans and cover the rising cost of living. As such, people are in favour of subjects such as; business, construction, mining, and politics instead of science for a higher paid career in the future. On the other hand, since science plays crucial role in making progress in societies, the shortage of associated experts could slow down the improvement of society as a whole. I.e, the USA in the early days of the space race failed to launch their first rocket successfully because of the shortage of competent engineers and specialists. The lack of critical thinking in early education impacts negatively on students future learning capacity in higher education, and can have negative impacts on their adult lives as they don't understand the fundamentals of medical treatments, car maintenance, electrical safety, ect. Leading these people to be easy easily mislead by the spread of incorrect information or lies from their local media or political representatives. To summarise, poor early education in science as well as relatively low wages derive a downward trend in the population of science major students. Such situations will restrict the development of; countries, states, cities and the world as a whole. We already have a lot of residents that cannot implement logical thinking to solve problems, and if the correct course of action is not taken, the problem is only guaranteed to get worse.