Do young people today make good use of their leisure time? Or do they spend too much time watching television and playing video games, instead of taking part in more productive activities?

Due to globalization, young people who live in developed countries are studying hard in order to increase their competitiveness in job markets. However, there is criticism that youngsters do not use their time effectively. This claim is totally far from the truth since students not only try their best to achieve higher scores in assessments but also develop their generic skills through taking part in many rewarding activities outside the school. It is evident that the schedule of the students is fully occupied with homework and the assessment because of the establishment of the exam-oriented education system. In terms of the limited capacity of tertiary education admissions, they are essential to obtain a good performance in the public examinations, which is one of the requirements to enter the university. As such, youngsters have to take different kinds of tutorial courses, ranging from language courses to advanced mathematics, so as to acquire the strategies for answering the exam papers. To successfully accomplish it, examinees have no other alternatives but to use their time wisely without adequate rest. Apart from academic work, constructing generic skills remains fundamentally important to young people in the changing world. These skills consist of critical-thinking skills, communication skills and problem-solving skills. To achieve this goal, parents are willing to arrange a broad range of value-adding activities for their children, these activities include some overseas exchange programs, study camps and extra-curricular activities, which are usually organized by the educational centre in the summer holidays. This is yet another evidence that teenagers are effective in spending their spare time in a meaningful way. All in all, it is beyond the truth youngsters are misusing their leisure time as they utilize their time to improve their academic results and develop their personal skills.