The US film industry has too much influence on the film industry around the world. Governments have a duty to invest money in their own film industries to protect and develop their cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

No one can deny the impact of cinema and films on people’s minds. The dominance of the American film industry is obvious now and presents a serious problem. American films become everywhere around the world, which may threaten many local cultures and traditions. It is my view that governments must take further steps and invest a great deal of money to increase the popularity of their own films to save cultures from shrinking. The US film industry is very clever in managing and thriving their own films, since they spent a huge amount of money. This can result in high-quality films and make people to live a great experience and escape their normal lives. However, American films provide extraordinary shows, but most of the American films have American cultures, and these films are released in other countries with different cultures, so this could negatively impact the audiences, who are obsessed with the characters and may be influenced by their culture. For example, now in Arabic nations, it is quite clear that American films dominate cinemas compared to local films. Therefore, it is vital that the government support its local film industries, and this can be achieved by providing money to the domestic film industries. If more local films are produced, this may lead to the preservation of cultures. We can sum up the ideas by saying that American films have proven their capability to be everywhere. However, entertainment is not the only objective of film, so the government had a duty to save its culture.