Some people believe that time spent on television, video and computer games can be valuable for children. Others believe this has negative effects on a child. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Interactive media such as television, video, and computer games has been used by children in their free time frequently. However, while some people think that it is important to use these devices for kids for educational purpose and stress-release, I personally believe that mentioned stuff contain bad influence for them. With regard to the educational purpose, people believe it is acceptable for several reasons. Firstly, they think that interactive media can be a source of learning to these children. This is because media can offer audio and visual-based learning that allows children to absorb knowledge in fun way. That being said, parents may feel less worry if their children play gadgets, as long as the content accessed is education-related material. Furthermore, it is believed by some research that learning by video is easily stuck in our memory rather than textbook-based learning. However, I do not argue these arguments are entirely valid. To begin, it has been shown on numerous occasion that children who spent leisure times more than four hours to videos are subject to lack of emotional control. This has caused many children are quickly agitated if their devices are taken away. If the goal is to ensure children to study interactively, then these emotional problem should not happen in the first place at all. Therefore, again, leaving children with devices should not be considered as alternative to interactive learning. To sum up, although some people argue that interactive media provides positive effects for children for studying purpose, I would argue there is sufficient evidence to demonstrate that this is not the case, and therefore, controlling the usage of medias for children should be under strict supervision.