Some employers are giving increased importance to employing people with good social skills in addition to good qualifications. Do you agree or disagree that social skills are as important as good qualifications for success in a job?

Several employers believe that it is important to recruit someone who are not only good in terms of meeting the required qualifications, but also those who have excellent capabilities in communications, collaborations, and other social skills. Others do not have the same opinion. This essay strongly agree with the former statement and argue that all companies around the world need to do the same. Before explaning why this is the case, let me briefly explain both perspectives first. The supporters of having good social skills in corporate world believe that all employees should not only focus on developing technical skills because those specializations are not the most crucial ones when it comes to solving customer problems. For example, in reality every employee is often assigned to a team where it consists of many people. In this case, each person needs to show his/her communication and collaboration skills in order to achieve the given target. If there is a person in a certain team that cannot implement those capabilities, then it will affect the performance of other teammates. However, the critics say that social skills can be an obstacle for developing radical ideas. For instance, when albert einstein developed his theory of general relativity, he basically against the dominant belief at that time which was newtonian physics concepts. There was a lot of debates and extensive experiments to prove whether einstein's theory was correct or not. Some said that if he did research with other laboratory members who could challenge his idea, we would not have einstein's paper even published in the first time. Even though there were indeed several conditions in the past that could enable breakthrough discoveries when working alone, I argue that the chance of those major events ever happen again in the future will be very small. The reason for that is because nowadays problems faced by humankind are becoming more complex and asymmetric. Many of them often need collaborations between all parties involved. Look at current world issues like climate change, renewable energy, and artificial intelligence. Those challenges cannot be solved even by the smartest human. In conclusion, we need to enhance our partnership and collaboration in order to solve the most difficult problems faced by humanity. In order to do so, we can start developing industry cultures that welcome team-working and communication instead of just focusing the technical aspects and individualism. Therefore, employers should prioritize workers that have social skills. This will affect to other aspects of global economies, such as education, farming, manufacturing, etc.