Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Nowadays, people prefer driving their own cars in order to have faster and more comfortable journey. As a result, we come across the increasing number of cars which can lead to some challenging problems such as pollution and traffic especially in large cities. While some believe that the best solution for the traffic and pollution problems is to increase the petrol price, I think there would be better solutions to reduce these problems. There are some reasons which indicate that increasing the costs of petrol cannot be an appropriate way to solve the problem of traffic and pollution. The first reason is that only a few number of people will reduce using their own personal cars as the petrol price increases. In fact, many people can afford to pay for the petrol and for these people the ease with which they travel is important. The second reason is that public transportation which is the main alternative to personal cars is not adequate for the whole society. People have to wait a lot to take the bus or underground. Also, they must stand all the journey since the buses are too crowded. On the other hand, there would be some effective solutions to deal with the problem of traffic and pollution. The first solution is to promote the quality of the used petrol. When the government provides petrol with low quality, it can cause more pollution. The lower quality petrol used by cars, the more pollution will be. The next solution is to provide people more and better public transport system. In this way, most people prefer using public transport since it is cheaper, easier and more comfortable. As a result, if citizens have easy access to buses and different types of public transport system, they probably will not drive their own cars. In conclusion, I strongly believe that rising the petrol cost cannot consider to be the best way to solve the pollution and traffic problems. Since many people have the budget to pay for it and they prefer to have a comfortable journey. Therefore, we should devise other solutions such as using high quality petrol and increasing the capacity of public transport system in order to make it available for most people.