Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion!

Students have choices in both academic and non-academic areas, and the diversity among students in different universities is impressive. The decisions students make are closely tied to their life goals. This essay aims to explain why students make certain choices and argue for the suitability of one option over the others. Some students believe that studying subjects outside their major has significant advantages. It can make them more competitive in a job market demand by providing diverse knowledge, fostering interdisciplinary skills, and offering a broader perspective. For example, an economics student might need to learn about geopolitics to understand economic changes in a country due to political factors. Furthermore, those skilled in multiple areas can switch careers, choosing professions in high demand in the future. For example, library science students can learn AI to improve their job prospects after graduation. On the other hand, some students argue that it's more effective to learn and focus entirely on their major. Students deeply immersed in their major tend to understand it better and focus on specific specializations. Moreover, certain professions require a thorough mastery of their fields. If people are professional, they will get trust from their clients and society. Trust is the foundation for a successful professional career, emphasizing the importance of expertise in specific fields, and the potential for a higher salary. For instance, medical specialists, engineers, mechanics, and others must study their subjects thoroughly as it directly involves people's lives, and mostly the jobs in these fields often require pursuing advanced studies, such as a master's or PhD, to further enhance their branding and reputation. In summary, I firmly believe that the need to improve other subjects to be a more qualified person depens on one’s personal background, chosen field, and future career aspirations. It is, fundamentally, a matter of individual perspective. Nonetheless, in our rapidly evolving society, the invaluable opportunity to explore other subjects as needed by the demands of industries.