These days, many people prefer to eat ready meals rather than cook at home. Why has it happen? What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Ready-made foods have assumed importance and popularity due to the fast-paced changes of modern lifestyles. This issue is rooted exclusively in the deleterious effects of modernity, and can be examined from both positive and negative points. The change in people’s attitudes towards the conventional ways of living can be mainly held accountable for this problem. In many cases, parents, for instance, have to work for long hours to satisfy the material needs of the family, consequently causing less time for cooking, especially for mothers who were conventionally responsible for food preparation. Moreover, the media has fostered a culture in which people are encouraged to spend more time on more constructive activities than mere cooking. Examples can be seen in tasks like running their own business and adopting a role to make a living. Considering the positive side of this phenomenon, this situation can actually bring about an opportunity for the family members to socialize with each other and have a small talk, by providing extra time. Additionally, these foods offer a variety that contains a lot of vitamins and minerals. Turning to the other side, some crucial factors seem to have negative effects on the general masses’ physical and mental conditions. By way of illustration, some ready meals like cans and processed meat are produced in underground workshops without the proper supervision and demonstrating commitment to the hygiene and the health of the products. Such foods contain artificial additives, among which preservatives have detrimental effects on health conditions. Processed foods, by and large, can enfeeble humans’ overall health. To sum up, the growing tendency of ready food consumption has become an indispensable part of modern life, which provokes alarms among authorities to take proper actions to exercise control on the private sector for the quality of the prepared foods.