Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behaviour. Others disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences. Discuss both these views and give your own opionion.

In this modern state of globalisation there are many interactions across different cultures, especially when it involves people crossing national borders. Cultural adaptation needs to be done either by the visitors or the host country. In my opinion, both scenario are inevitable in the context of globalisation, this essay will further explain on these scenarios. When visiting to other countries, people should be aware of and respect the local customs. By doing this, uncomfortable situations and conflicts could be avoided. Take a dressing cultures for example, there are certain cultures that dress more modestly than the others. If we are happen to visit that country, we should adjust on how we dress so that they don't find our behaviour offensive. Adjuting to other cultures is also a mean to build an inter-cultural relationship which is an important part of globalisation. A visitor should bear the responsibility to adjust with the locals if they want the visit to have positive implications. However, cultural adjustment should not only be done in a one-way. When the number of visitors is huge, for instance, in the case of migration or tourism, then the host country should embrace the differences and accomodate them. This will ensure visitors will enjoy their visit and in return will provide a positive impact to their nation. For example, tourists who enjoy their visit would spend more during their trip or a country which needs foreign labours will have to make their culture more welcoming. As a host country, welcoming other cultures will be necessary in order to capitalise on the benefit of globalisation. In conclusion, adjusting cultures by both parties will be unavoidable either deliberately or not. If we happen to do so, then cross border interactions will certainly have more positive implications in it.