In many countries, smoking is now illegal in public places. Many people believe that such a ban is justified.

Tobacco smoking has been unlawful in public parks, hospitals, restaurants and museums at the present time in several countries and numerous individuals has supported this comprehensive law. I firmly agrees with this idea because it prevents non-smokers from developing serious smoking-related disease and encourages the addicts to quit their habit. Making it illegal does make sense as it reduces the number of morbidity and mortality cases, and makes a good citizen & a healthier nation. Passive smoking can lead to serious health conditions and exposure to it not only harms the individual inhaling it but also affects the people around them. Second hand smoking is something that people cannot set aside in the presence of smokers and it leads to life threatening conditions like lung cancer, asthma, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, nasal cavity cancer and naso-pharyngeal cancer. Restricted smoking zone refrain people from getting exposed to passive smoking and reduces the chances of getting diseases. For example, in 2007 United Kingdom had introduced law restricting smoking in public locations and after that, there was a significant decline of smoking-induced cases and it now became smoke-free zone. Furthermore, Banned smoking in public areas helps the addicts to gradually quit their habit. It encourages them to stop smoking and over time makes them more cognizant about the harmful side effects of inhalation. If they ever want to smoke in these areas, they have to go outside or leave the company of associates, which often make them feel excluded and leads to give up the smoke. For example, A recent study has shown that number of men and women are gradually quiting smoking with the help of counseling, support and cutting nicotine on a daily basis, which is mainly generated by social pressure. In conclusion, passive smoking is cautious to public health as it increases the risk of getting smoking-induced diseases and I believe that restricting it in public areas is indeed a good effort which helps to limit this type of exposure and contributes to make a responsible citizens and reduces the number of smokers.