An increase in production of consumer goods results in damaging the environment. What are the causes of this and give a possible solution

The production of consumer goods is having an increasing number of harmful impacts on the environment. In this essay, I will elucidate the factors that contribute towards environmental damage and propose some solutions to them. The root cause of the environmental issues is mostly associated with the consumer goods industry. A massive production or industrial process of goods requires a lot of energy, and mostly coal-based source because it is cheap and efficient. However, coal-based energy produces carbon emissions which could deteriorate air pollution. Climate change as an example, carbon emissions are the biggest factor towards this problem. One of the impacts on the earth is the rising degree of earth's temperature reached 1.5 compared with the industrialisation era. Additionally, the liquid waste that produced by industries is also detrimental to the environment, especially water sources. Therefore a special water treatment is required for the industries before they disposed of. Several solutions can be taken to heal our earth from many breakages made by humans. The actions can be divided into preventive and corrective. Firstly, preventive action can be implemented and initially by the government make a regulation for the industry to start shifting the use of renewable energy. To illustrate, in 2023, the Ministry of Environment of Indonesia, had a policy on the carbon market which gave an incentive for companies that changed their energy source from solar or wind power. Secondly, the corrective action can be considered as the solution is corporate social responsibility (CSR) actions that should be done by the corporation as a compulsory task. Take cleaning river as an instance, help to clean up the trash in the river and prevent it to causing the flood. In conclusion, the causes of environmental damage are carbon emissions and waste that produced by the companies. This essay suggested the solution to this problem is twofold: renewable energy shifting and CSR.