A lot of charities and organisations have to publicize their activities by setting up a number of days to name the special day like National Children’s day and National non-smoking day. Why do they do so? What are the effects?

These days many NGO’s and NPO’s need to advertise their efforts by naming days like ‘Mother’s Day’ and ‘No Smoking Day’. In this essay I shall discuss the causes and effects of this phenomenon. The main reason why these NPOs publicise their work is to raise funds for their working. When they publicize their activities, they get people ’s attention and so people contribute wholeheartedly. Sometimes, in times of calamities, they need a lot of funds and manual help. They need voluntary workers. For example, recently in Ladakh, a cloudburst caused havoc. Many people lost their lives and there was a lot of damage of property. The Rotary Club and Jaycee Club of my hometown sent many volunteers to help. The government alone cannot be at all places. Because of such organisations, people get timely help and a lot of burden is eased from the government’s shoulders. Furthermore, when these organisations name special days, it brings people together. With more activities opened and more days named, more and more people focus their attention and put their time and energy and realise the importance of doing for others. As a consequence, community spirit increases in society. As it is nowadays, people are getting self-centered and alienated from each other. So, such days are the need of the day. Such days also, keep our youth in touch with our culture and traditions. With the exposure to global culture, youth today are forgetting their traditions. Establishing some days may help the young people understand the importance of such events. Such days also increase awareness of offering help selflessly. Hence, some virtuous habits may pass from one generation to the other. Finally, such days deter people from bad habits. For e.g., on National No Smoking Day people are made aware about the harmful effects of smoking. To summarise, charities and NPOs publicize their activities because they need funds, and they name certain days so that people come together and celebrate and realize the importance of their culture and tradition