One problem faced by almost every large country is traffic congestion. What do you think are the cause of this? What solutions can you suggest?

In modern era, many countries in the world are now facing the problem of traffic congestion. This essay will illustrate the reason why said problem exist and the solutions to it. The major root to this problem is the rapid increase in population of the world. This leads to the rise in the number of personal vehicles, because people want to travel conveniently by themselves. The more motorbikes and cars, the heavier the traffic in cities are. Another cause to it is the infrastructure not being able to fully accommodate the traffic issue. Buses and trains are not only unable to reach many places, some of them are already degraded. The road systems also become a part of the problem since many of them were not well-maintained, leading to the appearance of potholes and broken traffic lights, slowing down the flow of traffic and causing congestion. There are many solutions that can help solving this issue, the best one of them is enhancing the infrastructure. Public transports should be more prioritised, with upgraded vehicles, new routes and separate lanes for them. With buses and trains become more convenient to use, they will become a better choice in people’s mind and help reducing the number of personal vehicles on the street. Upgraded road systems and traffic light systems will also be a big help on solving this issue because they make the traffic working more smoothly. Additionally, we can also restrict parking in busy streets, In conclusion, traffic congestion is mainly caused by the population increase and the degradation of the infrastructure. The best solution for this problem is to upgrade the traffic systems to reduce the number of personal vehicles on the road.