Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Although some people believe that one should only focus on their given subjects at school, this essay agrees that increasing knowledge outside the school’s materials could be beneficial because it will leverage the student’s value and soft skills when applying for works. On the one hand, scholars tend to spend most of their time learning in-depth only on their lessons provided by their universities or schools because they want to focus to graduate with a short period of time. Furthermore, when they allocate their time only to learn the basics, they will easily pass the test and graduate sooner. For example, a record by Faculty of Engineering in a university showed that a group of students who did not take any additional courses graduated 6 months earlier compared to the usual time since they have always passed each of the tests. On the other hand, some students aggressively expand their knowledge by taking lessons outside their schools to complement their study. This will ease them to find jobs because they have additional skills and knowledge to offer to their employers, and thus, this essay agrees that students should upgrade their skills with taking additional courses for this reason. For instance, Google provides lots of free courses with certificates because they know it is highly important especially for university students. In conclusion, while there are numbers of students who only focus on their main subjects at school in order to graduate earlier, some still choose to take additional courses to increase their value and get accepted easily in their dream jobs. Moreover, this essay agrees that students should go extra miles for this reason.