It costs a lot of money for a country to host an international sports event, such as the Olympic Games or football World Cup. Some people think that this is a waste of money, while others believe the opposite. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is no denying that an international sports event, such as the Olympic Games or football World Cup, demands a hosting country's robust economic climate to afford the necessities surrounding this event. While the benefit stemming from this sports competition can compensate for the financial burden in the view of some people, I am inclined to express my disapproval of this decision. Positive changes might be brought about in various aspects of the designated country. Admittedly, more jobs are created since construction sites and the hospitality industry require blue- and white-collar workers. Furthermore, this can stimulate the growth of that nation as tourist revenues are allocated to invest in healthcare, education, and the economy. Additionally, hosting this event may extend opportunity to promote national recognizability on the global stage, as it may leave a lasting impression on tourists and attract foreigners to reside here, which might result in the country's prosperity. However, I firmly believe that a nation is squandering its wealth by hosting international sporting events. This is because host countries can be left awash in extravagant infrastructure maintenance, leading to a lack of financial resources for another field. For instance, Australia has to shoulder a $32 million-a-year bill for the maintenance of vacant facilities instead of allocating that to improve the welfare system and living quality of the residents. Moreover, prosperous cities are designated solely responsible for organizing this essential event as provincial towns cannot burden this notoriously formidable task. This can perpetuate cycle of poverty and deprivation since capital injection and the improvement of public transportation tend to concentrate in places already well-equipped with state-of-the-art infrastructure. Consequently, monetary aid can be utilized efficaciously when the government places its emphasis on wealthy places. In conclusion, the organization of world-class sports events is a risky venture that requires thoughtful consideration when their detrimental impact on national financial resources can outweigh the advantage in stimulating economic growth.