People are consuming more and more sugar-based drinks. Why? What can be done to reduce sugary drink consumption?

In this contemporary era, more citizens inclined to drink sweetened beverages unprecedentedly. Main causes of this can be considered as addictive nature of sugar and worldwide advertisement campaigns using celebrities and well-known sports personnel. This could lead to numerous health complications. In order to minimize this government should regulate the beverage industry. This essay discusses causes of why sugary drinks are popular and measures to limit the harmful effects. Overall, there are many reasons for sugary drink consumption. Sugar is a substance which is addictive in nature as per many research. Further, advertising campaigns used by multinational companies for these products are quite influential and use the most popular celebrities and sports stars. For example, there was a time when Coca-Cola Kola used Michel Jackson in their advertisement and all Michel Jackson's followers and fans were inclined to consume Coke. Convenience is another factor. As these drinks are ready to drink as they are purchased and can be purchased from every corner of the country, consumption of these drinks can be unconscious. Irrespective of the reason, high usage of sugar could lead to detrimental health issues such as non-communicable diseases, canser and obesity. In order to minimize the danger of this phenomenon, most importantly, the Government should regulate the soft drink industry with limitations to the sucrose content per given quantity. Also, society should be educated about the repercussions of this habit. Banners on the consequences of high sugar intake can be published on vending machines so that unconscious purchases will be reduced. In conclusion, although, due to the smoothing taste and substantial promotions, the popularity of sugar based drinks are high, with government intervention and proper communication of health hazards, consumption of it should be minimized is not completely stopped.