Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that students should focus on their main major instead of trying to learn other subjects additionally. In my opinion, I believe the broader intellectual scope, the more opportunities in the future. There are two vital reasons for university students to spend their entire time paying attention to their study. Firstly, studying subjects which are not included in the educational curriculum could divert valuable resources. For example, it is nonsensical to take time to practice anatomy while majoring in business administration. Furthermore, these subjects also make no improvement for doing jobs in their majors. Secondly, trying a lot of things at the same time can lead to losing orientation. It is usually described as “jack-of-all-trades, master of none”. Obviously, a master-of-none makes no value in the market then the consequence of failure is easy to predict. However, the benefits of a broader intellectual scope are undeniable. The demands of employers now require more and more highly intellectual students to join the market thanks to the development of economics and society. A clear case of this is in the field of law, an expert lawyer in mergers and acquisitions will not only need the understanding about the legal framework but also about the business strategy. Moreover, globalization also creates a trend in multidisciplinary coordination that asks for interaction and interdependence between spheres. Therefore, it is essential for students to arm themselves with transdisciplinary cornerstones for the future. In conclusion, I believe learning a wide range of subjects will be crucial for university students to be well-prepared to become the future labor force.