Some people believe that violence on television and in computer games has a damaging effect on the society. Others deny that these factors have any significant influence on people's behaviour. What is your opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experiences.

Nowadays, many people are convinced that an excessive display of violent content in games and TV programs pose a detrimental effect on the public. Other groups of people have an opposite opinion and disagree that violence in the media can significantly influence people’s actions. This essay will delineate my perspective on the presence of violence in entertainment and its negative societal impacts. While some may consider the strong images to be the major contributor to someone’s aggressive behavior, there are plenty of cases where other factors can cause these behavioral changes. One example can be demonstration of gore content in horror games as in Left for Dead. In this particular game, players must participate in cold-blooded fights with other dangerous characters in order to survive the zombie apocalypse. This game doesn’t encourage assault on real humans since it only trains your survival skills in imaginary situations. Another explanation of some people having prejudices towards the display of blood might be an attempt to shift a blame. It is known that dozens of maniacs and psychopaths were more influenced by their upbringing than shock content. For instance, the infamous Clown character from the movie IT was based on a real killer from Texas. This killer slaughtered more than 90 young men in the costume of Clown and was never a fan of horror or the same genre. On the contrary, he was a public figure that enjoyed dressing up and entertaining children with tricks and balloons. During investigation, it was discovered that he was traumatized by his parents and violent images in the media had little to no effect on his behavior. In conclusion, many would find strong, violent content to be the reason for the presence of increased aggressiveness. I genuinely believe that childhood traumas present more negative impacts on someone's mental health than some R-rated movies and games.